This Forum uses cookies only to improve the browsing experience. By viewing our content, you accept the use of those cookies.
To find out more and change your cookie settings, please view our cookie policy.

Close
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Fighter Directing Tenders (Read 13,390 times)
John Langcake

Fighter Directing Tenders
10.05.2009 at 00:18:47
Print Post  
I am a retired RAF radar technician and worked on radars T7 to T87. The history of radar in the BoB and after is pretty well known but I was unaware that radar played a part in the D-Day landings in Normandy; LST's were modified and equipped with a whole host of electronic equiment including radars T15 and T11 and classified Fighter Direction Tenders FDT 13, 216 and 217. I came across the info on the web site www.combinedops.com, there is a very brief diary of events and I was wondering if any FCA members had any further info on these interesting vessels.

John Langcake

IP Logged

Richard Jenner

Re: Fighter Directing Tenders
Reply #1 - 16.08.2009 at 08:15:27
Print Post  
John,

I visited the Air Defence Radar Museum (Neatishead) last week and their room dealing with overseas radars has quite a bit of information on FDTs and Operation NEPTUNE. The ADRM also has extensive paper based archives. Web-site at www.radarmuseum.co.uk

Richard Jenner

IP Logged

John Langcake

Reply #2 - 20.08.2009 at 07:43:39
Print Post  
Richard,
Thanks for the info, shame on me I've never been to the Radar Museum so the next time I'm across that side of the country I'll pay a long overdue visit. Thanks again.
John.

IP Logged

Richard Jenner

Reply #3 - 14.07.2010 at 19:03:23
Print Post  
John,

I stumbled across this while researching a history project:

14.Dundonald Air Station