This Forum uses cookies only to improve the browsing experience. By viewing our content, you accept the use of those cookies.
To find out more and change your cookie settings, please view our cookie policy.

Close
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic No 729 Signals Unit 'Woodlands' (Read 4,460 times)
Al Burrell
Forum Member

No 729 Signals Unit 'Woodlands'
25.02.2013 at 18:56:57
Print Post  
I am a retired RAF Comms Engineer carrying out a little private research into RAF Signals Units (SU's). I have come across a No 729 SU listed as being at Woodlands during the period Aug 52-Sep 57. The only 'Woodlands' that I can find with any apparent RAF connection is within your Association and the FC Branch, specifically, CTU "Woodlands". Does CTU in this context mean 'Controllers Training Unit'?  "Woodlands", I gather, was ex-Army premises at Camp Hill, Stanmore. But what about 729 SU? Was it possibly an ad-hoc SU set up for training purposes? Whilst I can, sometimes after a great deal of searching, find information on most of the 600 or so Signals Units that have existed, I cannot find any information on No 729, other than the mysterious 'Woodlands', and the above dates.  Can anyone please help me, or at least put me out of my misery! Very many thanks. Al Burrell

IP Logged

Tony Pleasant
Ex Member

Re: No 729 Signals Unit 'Woodlands'
Reply #1 - 06.03.2013 at 06:39:06
Print Post  
Hello Al, my name is Tony (Plez) Pleasant and several years ago I wrote a history of the School of Fighter Control which can be found on this site  under "Articles". Chapter 3 is dedicated to Woodlands and may be of some interest to you.  Cheers Plez

IP Logged

Al Burrell
Forum Member

Re: No 729 Signals Unit 'Woodlands'
Reply #2 - 19.03.2013 at 10:35:39
Print Post